Top facebook2x Top phone2x 01398 630070 Top search2x Basket Login
Home / News / Prize-giving Event for the 2022/23 Season
Home / News / Prize-giving Event for the 2022/23 Season

Prize-giving Event for the 2022/23 Season

Published 9:03am on 6 May 2024

Dear Member,
A prize-giving event for the 2022/23 season was held on Friday 26 Apr 24 at The Cosy Club in Taunton.
I think everyone who attended had a fun evening and enjoyed chatting to fellow members.
Before we awarded prizes, thanks were expressed to everyone involved in running club on all our behalfs, particularly Dave Stockton and his committee, and all the volunteers who gave up time to attend duties.
Without this gift of time and energy, the club wouldn’t function and allow members to enjoy the club so much. Thank you all.
Awards were made for both sailing prowess, and one or two non-sailing awards for contributions to club life.
If you didn’t attend please get in touch with Tony Paine or myself to collect your trophy.
Particular credit on the sailing side to Paul Harwood, our top helm for 2022/23, the 3rd time in a row. Also, to Mike Green for winning the Victor Ludorum award for the 2nd time in 3 years.
I’d also like to give a special mention to both David Hands and Nick Hollingsworth, collecting the Unsung Hero award. They give up numerous weekends throughout the season to help provide our members with PB2 and Safety Boat qualifications. This is a vital activity, helping to keep us safe on the water. Thank you both.
Finally, to Deb Ryles, was awarded Club Person of the Year. This was in recognition of all the time and effort in helping to organise the Osprey training weeks and adult sailing courses. This provides access to sailing for many newcomers, hopefully leading to a lifelong enjoyment of sailing, and also some vital club funds.
Congratulations to all our trophy winners, and to everyone who joined us on the water last season.

Event 2022/23
Clatworthy Chilblain Trophy – Paul Birbeck
Frostbite Tankard – Paul Harwood
1st Wimbleball Sailor at the Beastie – Simon Hawkes
Keith Turner Trophy – Paul Harwood
Easter Regatta Cup – David Stockton
Britnell Bowl – Paul Harwood
Lady Helm Trophy – Jemima Ryles
Sheppy Cup – Paul Harwood
Junior Cup – Lewis Ryles
Double Hander Shield – Pete Smith & David Dowling
Single Hander Pursuit Cup (exc. K1s) – Simon Hawkes
K1 Series Cup – Paul Harwood
Victor Ludorum – Mike Green
Most 4th Places Racer – Nick Ryles
Top Helm – Paul Harwood
Top Crew – David Dowling
Winter Series – Paul Birbeck
Spring Series – Mike Green
Summer Series – Angus MacAlister
Unsung Hero – David Hands & Nick Hollingsworth
Club Person – Deb Ryles
Junior Endeavour – Lewis Ryles

Last updated 7:43am on 20 May 2024

© 2024 Wimbleball Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager